Ohio Green Party Announces 2016 candidates and Presidential Nominating Convention date



For Immediate Release

Columbus OH: – (1-5-16) The Ohio Green Party is pleased to announce our local and statewide candidates for the 2016 elections.

Joe DeMare will represent the Ohio Greens in this years US Senate race.

Dennis Lambert has filed as a write-in candidate for the Ohio 15th Congressional District.

Connie Gadell-Newton is running for the Ohio Statehouse (18th District)

Joe Manchik is running for US Congress, 12th District

Bob Fitrakis is on the ballot representing the Ohio Green Party in the race for Franklin County Prosecutor

All of these excellent candidates will appear on the ballot for the Ohio Primary taking place on March 15th. Those who request Green Party ballots will also have the opportunity to vote for candidates to various County Central Committees as well as the State Central Committee.

Our Presidential Nominating Convention will be held on April 3rd in Columbus. At this convention those who are registered Green through their local county Board of Elections will have the opportunity to help decide which Green Party Presidential candidate will be nominated to be on the ballot in November. Casting a Green Party ballot in the March primary will assure attendees the ability to vote their preference at the Convention.

All five candidates recognized by the Green Party of the United States will be invited to appear or have statements made on their behalf.

Those candidates are (in alphabetical order):

Darryl Cherney, Sedinam Kinamo Christin Moyowasifza Curry, Bill Kreml, Kent Mesplay, and Jill Stein

The location information for the Presidential Nominating Convention is:

Northwood-High Building (Room 100) located at 2231 North High St, Columbus, OH 43201 Time: 10am-4pm

We have agreed to use “approval voting” as opposed to “instant runoff voting” to make the Ohio Green Party choice for president to be voted on at the Green Party Of the United States nominating convention to be held in Houston in August. We will also choose our delegates to the national convention and other appropriate business for the presidential election year convention.